New Executive Committee - May 2022

New Executive Committee – May 2022

Newsletters, The Scoop

Hunter Region Landcare Network elected a new Executive Committee on Monday 16th May 2022.

The new position holder are as follows:

Chairperson:              Stephen Thatcher

Vice Chairperson:      Therese Moffitt

Secretary/Treasurer:  Lyn Morris

Stephen Thatcher

Stephen Thatcher


I have been a member of Hunter Region Landcare Network since 1996 and have been awarded life membership.  I have participated in every NSW Landcare conference since its inception.

I was involved in setting up the Landcare demonstration site at Lake Liddell Recreation Area Reserve in 2004 and have been chair since 2004. 

I have been a leader in the Scouting movement for over 40 years.

Muscle Creek Landcare group was formed in 1995 and I was a founding member.

Therese Moffitt

Therese Moffitt

Vice Chair

In 2017, with the help of my husband Steve, we started the McCullys Gap Rehabilitation & Sustainability Community Care Group Inc.

Our aim is to help landowners around our valley gain knowledge and come together as a group to chat about our properties and the challenges of drought, flood and fire.

I love to listen to the land and the animals. I want to make it better for future generations.

Lyn Morris

Lyn Morris


I got my interest in native plants from my dad, Bob Jones, who was a lifetime member and previous president and secretary of the Society for Growing Australian Plants. He was a relative of Don McNair (of the Don McNair herbarium of University of Newcastle) and they went travelling a lot to outback Aus. I remember as a kid we went on S.G.A.P. outings on weekends.
I have been volunteering with Shortland Wallsend Landcare every Tuesday for about 3 years. Committee member since October 2017. I love Landcare because satisfaction it brings in looking after the environment and seeing the positive changes we make. I enjoy the social interaction and the good friends made along the way.